EYFS Curriculum

Areas of learning and development

The seven areas of learning and development are split into three prime areas and four specific areas. Children mostly develop the three prime areas first. These are:
• Communication and language
• Physical development
• Personal, social and emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the world
• Expressive arts and design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities, but the professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.